May 22, 2024

Indiana Farm Bureau selects 2022 student scholarship winners

INDIANAPOLIS — Indiana Farm Bureau awarded 13 scholarships to incoming or current college students pursuing careers in agriculture.

The scholarships include the Marion Stackhouse Memorial Scholarship, two Collegiate Farm Bureau scholarships and 10 Carolyn Hegel Memorial scholarships. The scholarship funds can be applied to tuition, housing, books or other educational expenses.

Arrington Krull of Kosciusko County is the recipient of this year’s Marion Stackhouse Memorial Scholarship.

The $1,000 scholarship is named in honor of the former INFB president, who served from 1976 to 1987. Winners of this scholarship must be INFB members pursuing studies in agriculture.

Krull is a graduating senior at Wawasee High School and will attend Purdue University in the fall where she plans to major in farm management with a minor in agronomy.

Two $1,000 scholarships are offered to members of any of the Collegiate Farm Bureau chapters — Purdue, Vincennes and Huntington universities.

This year, Purdue sophomores and active Collegiate Farm Bureau members Noah Berning of Allen County and Melanie Hasler of Bartholomew County received the Collegiate Farm Bureau scholarships.

Additionally, 10 students, one per INFB district, received the $1,000 Carolyn Hegel Memorial Scholarship awards, named after the long-time INFB second vice president, who served the organization for 26 years.

Winners must be incoming or current college students pursuing a degree in agriculture and members of INFB.

The winning students are listed here with their home county and high school or college.

• District 1: Stephanie Boone, Porter County — Kouts High School, graduating senior, Ivy Tech Community College.

• District 2: J. Brent Studebaker, Whitley County — junior at Purdue.

• District 3: Blake Buchanan, Benton County — Benton Central Junior/Senior High School, graduating senior, Purdue.

• District 4: Madison Powell, Tipton County — freshman at Purdue.

• District 5: Audrey Knoper, Boone County — Western Boone Junior/Senior High School, graduating senior, University of Georgia.

• District 6: Garrett Walther, Wayne County — Centerville High School, graduating senior, Purdue.

• District 7: Jordan Remsburg, Daviess County — North Daviess Junior/Senior High school, graduating senior, Purdue.

• District 8: Christopher Gauck, Decatur County — North Decatur Junior/Senior High School, graduating senior, Purdue.

• District 9: Linda Jacob, Dubois County — sophomore at Vincennes University.

• District 10: Ariel Camm, Harrison County — junior at Western Kentucky University.

“Indiana Farm Bureau is thrilled to support our state’s youth in agriculture through our annual scholarships,” said Isabella Chism, INFB second vice president.

“We heard from many passionate students about their love of ag through this process. Indiana agriculture is fortunate to have talented young men and women, like these 13 students, as future leaders in our community.”

Many county Farm Bureaus also offer annual scholarships for students in their area. To learn more, visit and visit the Grants and Scholarships page under the Resources tab.