October 19, 2021

Submit nominations now for Indiana Farm Family of the Year award

FRENCH LICK, Ind. — Beck’s Hybrids and Indiana AgriNews have started their search for the 2022 Indiana Farm Family of the Year.

The award, now in its 25th year, will honor a family for their work on the farm and their contributions in their community. Based on their farm practices and community involvement, one family will be selected as the 2022 Indiana Farm Family of the Year.

The family will be recognized at the Indiana Farm Bureau State Convention in French Lick on Thursday, Dec. 9.

The award winners will receive a plaque and a special sign that can be displayed on their farm. The family also will receive gift packages from Beck’s Hybrids and Indiana AgriNews.

People may nominate their own family or others by completing the nomination form in this week’s Indiana AgriNews newspaper and returning it to AgriNews Publications at 426 Second St., La Salle, IL 61301. Nominations also may be emailed to jhenry@shawmedia.com.

To answer the three essay questions on the nomination form, people can use additional pages if necessary. The deadline for receiving the nominations is Friday, Nov. 5.

The award is not limited to one part of the state. It is also not restricted to a particular type or size of farm.

For more information, contact AgriNews Executive Editor James Henry at 815-410-2257 or jhenry@shawmedia.com.

Celebrating 25 Years

Previous recipients of the Indiana Farm Family of the Year award include:

1998 — The Kohlhagen Family of Jasper County

1999 — The Walker Family of Blackford County

2000 — The Bontrager Family of Elkhart County

2001 — The Stinson Family of Clinton County

2002 — The Ambriole Family of Huntington County

2003 — The Schlatter Family of Allen County

2004 — The Johnson Family of Orange County

2005 — The Perkins Family of LaGrange County

2006 — The Bell Family of Wayne County

2007 — The Leininger Family of St. Joseph County

2008 — The Ring Family of Dubois County

2009 — The Minich-May Family of Carroll County

2010 — The Mohler Family of Clinton County

2011 — The Coy Family of Decatur County

2012 — The Hayden Family of Lake County

2013 — The Baird Family of Washington County

2014 — The Duttlinger Family of Jasper County

2015 — The Hadley Family of Allen County

2016 — The Clauson Family of Fulton County

2017 — The Miller Family of DeKalb County

2018 — The Ramsey Family of Shelby County

2019 — The Wenning Family of Decatur County

2020 — The Everett Family of Boone County

2021 — The Stephenson Family of Johnson County