December 04, 2023

Soybean groups announce board elections

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. — The American Soybean Association and Illinois Soybean Association are accepting applications for director positions.

Four ASA director positions are available. ASA directors may serve a maximum of three three-year terms. Three of the four directors are eligible for additional terms.

ASA director eligibility requirements indicate that candidates:

• Must be a member of the Illinois Soybean Growers, an affiliate of the American Soybean Association. Visit to join.

• Must be a producer of soybeans as a farm owner, farm manager, or farm operator.

• May not be an officer or director of any other national soybean policy organization.

• Must be elected by the Illinois Soybean Growers Board.

All eligible candidates will be invited to interview with the ISG Board of Directors during its July board meeting in Champaign prior to the election being conducted at the same meeting. Seating on the ASA board will take place during ASA’s December 2022 meeting in St. Louis.

Interested applicants should complete the online application by 4 p.m. on July 15. No write-in provision exists for the ASA director elections.

Illinois Soybean Association

Additionally, ISA seeks qualified candidates to fill board seats representing six districts that are up for election in 2022:

• District 3: Henderson, Henry, Mercer, Rock Island, Stark, Warren, Whiteside counties.

• District 4: Bureau, Grundy, Kendall, LaSalle counties.

• District 6: Livingston, McLean, Woodford counties.

• District 8: Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Schuyler counties.

• District 15: Clinton, Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair counties.

• District 18: Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Johnson, Massac, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union, Williamson counties.

The ISA board is comprised of 18 district directors and six at-large directors. Board members serve a term of three years and are eligible for up to three terms. Directors currently seated in all six districts are eligible for additional terms.

Eligibility to serve requires candidates be Illinois residents of legal voting age that contribute to the soybean checkoff.

Candidates must also be residents within the district and maintain eligibility during their term. The time a director devotes to the organization depends on their level of leadership and representation needs.

To be placed on the ballot, petitions must be completed and filed with the Illinois Department of Agriculture in Springfield no later than 5 p.m. on May 15.

A candidate’s petition must carry the signatures of at least 250 of the qualified producers from the district where the candidate seeks office, or 5% of farmers within the district, whichever is less.

Petitions are available by contacting Dustin Scott, ISA director of operations, at 309-808-3603, or scottd@ilsoy.

Those wishing to run as a write-in candidate must also meet the eligibility requirements and submit a Declaration of Intent to IDOA no later than 5 p.m. June 25. This form is available through IDOA by contacting Rachel Hettrick at

Elections will be held on July 7 at the University of Illinois Extension county offices in each district.