May 21, 2024

Gauck to lead corn checkoff board

Tim Gauck, president of the Indiana Corn Marketing Council, visits Panama to promote U.S. grains.

GREENSBURG , Ind. — Tim Gauck is the new president of the Indiana Corn Marketing Council, the state’s corn checkoff program.

Gauck farms with his son and daughter and their in-laws in Decatur County, where they grow corn, soybeans and wheat. He recently traveled to Panama with the ICMC to learn about promoting U.S. grains.

“Most farmers think you either use it as feed or take it to the elevator,” Gauck said of grain. “It feels like the end of it. But it’s really the beginning. It has to go somewhere, whether it’s ethanol or feed or exports.

“The people hauling it don’t care where it goes. It’s up to us to find places to market it. Part of our strategic plan is to move that pile of corn and soybeans.”

Gauck also plans to continue work on the grain bin safety program, among other programs. He hopes to see more directors and staff speaking at meetings around the state.

“We need to let people know how important checkoff money is and what it’s being used for,” he said. “And listen to suggestions.”

Other goals for the ICMC are to expand the availability of higher blends of ethanol and to export Indiana-grown corn to new markets.

“Indiana’s corn checkoff program is not very old,” Gauck explained. “It’s only been around for 16 years, but I believe it has accomplished many things that have benefited Hoosier corn growers.

“Probably one of the biggest benefits has been the expansion of our ethanol industry in Indiana. We now have 15 ethanol plants that consume more than 40% of our annual corn crop.

“Those ethanol plants pay a premium for our corn, creating competition for other buyers and making our crops more valuable.”

Gauck succeeds Paul Hodgen, a farmer from Roachdale, as president of the ICMC. Hodgen will remain on the board.

Susan Brocksmith was named the board’s treasurer for 2024. Brocksmith and her husband, Mike, grow non-GMO corn and soybeans on their no-till farm near Vincennes.

Off the farm, she is dean of the College of Business and Public Service at Vincennes University.

Other elected ICMC board officers include:

• Vice President Matthew Lucas, a farmer from Brownstown.

• Treasurer Janis Highley, a farmer from Warren.

• Chair of the Market Development Committee J.R. Roesner, a farmer from Ferdinand.

• Chair of the Sustainability and Value Creation Committee Adam Sheller, a farmer from Noblesville.

Three incumbent ICMC directors were reelected to the board this year for three-year terms: Jerry Osterholt of Roanoke, Ron Hensley of Daleville, and John Adam Jr. of Sellersburg.

Erica Quinlan

Erica Quinlan

Field Editor