December 05, 2023

Counties designated disaster areas from drought

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. — Six Illinois counties have been designated primary natural disaster areas, allowing for the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency to extend emergency credit to local producers through emergency loans.

The primary counties eligible are Alexander, Johnson, Massac, Pope, Pulaski and Union. Contiguous counties also eligible in Illinois are Hardin, Jackson, Saline and Williamson.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of D2 drought-severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or D3 drought-extreme or D4 drought-exceptional.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of farming operation, or the refinance of certain debts.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security availability and repayment ability. The application deadline is July 1.

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help determine program and loan options.

To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.