Illinois State Fair Master Showmanship Contest winners announced

The winners of the Master Showmanship Contest held during the Illinois State Fair are: Tanner Mickey (from left), Ty Drach, Clay Sundburg, Kyle Webster and Shelbi McCray. Richard Guebert Jr. (far right), Illinois Farm Bureau president, presented the awards.

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. — The 2019 Master Showmanship Contest was held Aug. 9 at the Illinois State Fairgrounds. Fifty-two exhibitors, who were the winners of their respective 4-H county contests, competed for the title of “Illinois Master Showman.”

This prestigious competition allows 4-H members 14 to 18 years of age to compete in a showmanship competition in each division — showing beef, sheep and swine.

The 4-H’ers were judged on their ability to handle each animal, knowledge of the species, as well as overall showmanship skills.

One winner was named for each species, and scores for all three species were tallied to determine the top three winners overall. Over $8,000 worth of prizes donated by sponsors were given away to the winners and participants.

This year’s contest winners are:

  • Overall Master Showman — Clay Sundberg from Arlington, representing La Salle County. He is the son of Staci and John Sundberg.
  • Second Place Overall — Ty Drach from Pontiac, representing Livingston County. He is the son of Tony and Joy Drach.
  • Third Place Overall — Kyle Webster from Chrisman, representing Edgar County. He is the son of Tom and Karen Webster.
  • Beef Division — Ty Drach from Pontiac, representing Livingston County. He is the son of Tony and Joy Drach.
  • Sheep Division — Tanner Mickey from Taylorville, representing Christian County. He is the son of Jon and Carla Mickey.
  • Swine Division — Shelbi McCray from Greenville, representing Bond County. She is the daughter of Jerry and Crystal McCray.

This year marked the 20th annual Master Showmanship Contest held at the Illinois State Fair, hosted by Illinois Farm Bureau and the RFD Radio Network. Illinois Farm Bureau President Richard Guebert Jr. presented the awards.


Load comments