LAFAYETTE, Ind. — Indiana Farm Bureau District 3 will offer a $1,000 scholarship to a Farm Bureau family member who resides in Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Jasper, Newton, Tippecanoe or White counties and is pursuing a higher education opportunity.

The scholarship is awarded in memory of Carolyn Burkle, honoring the many years of her life that were dedicated to working with community organizations.

Applicants must already be accepted to a higher education institution to be eligible for the award. They also must include a resume highlighting leadership qualities and participation in school, church and community activities.

A one-page, double-spaced essay about the applicant’s reason for pursuing a particular educational opportunity is also required.

Application forms are available online at To find the form, float your cursor over the “Programs” heading at the top of the page and click on “Scholarships.”

All applications are due to Janet Kemper by March 1 for consideration. Applicants can reach her by phone at 765-714-6724.

Completed applications can be sent by email or in writing to or 5710 East 700 South, Lafayette, IN 47909.